Daily Sketch- 06.07.2011

Hey Kids!

The Kidd here, back and still a little beat from Heroes Con in Charlotte, NC. If you haven’t been to Heroes Con, I highly recommend it. Heroes is the best comic con in the southeast. It is all about comics and incredibly family friendly. There are always a great bunch of artist, writers and professionals to talk to about the industry and what not. So, if you can, check out Heroes Con next year.

Anyway, I had a good time over the weekend. No, I didn’t do any real drawing while away. Just sort of took a small vacation from Savannah. I got to see some folks I haven’t seen since, well, last years Heroes Con. Hung out, talked to some folks about doing some work with them. Enjoyed the fact that Waki still owes me a cup of coffee from like five years ago (My plan is to never let him pay up, so I can hold it over him forever. It’s not really evil, more mischievous.).

I did, however, get to hand off a few commission Sketch Cards to my buddy Craig. He had seen most of them, but I held one back, only taunting him with a small teaser of the card. But now that he has seen it, I can post the full image up for all to see.

So, here is some art.

The Rawhide Kid

From Marvel Comicsthe Rawhide Kid. Yup, there was a time when Western comics, not only were produced, but out sold Superhero comics. The Rawhide Kid was one of those comics. It debut in 1955 at Atlas Comics, the predecessor to the Marvel Comics we all know, and ran for 16 issues. Then in 1960, Stan “the Man” Lee and Jack “the King” Kirby, along with Dick Ayers (artist from the original 16 issue run), revamped Johnny Bart aka the Rawhide Kid for Marvel Comics. The series, through Marvel Comics, picked up the issue numbering from Atlas and started at number 17 and ran until May 1979, ending it’s run with an impressive 151 issue run.

As for my sketch, I was going for a Jack Kirby feel while sketching it out, but it came out with more of a John Byrne feel. Oh well. I’m good with that as I dig both those guys art.

See ya tomorrow with something else.

the Kidd

About Krayola Kidd

Creator, Illustrator and Colorist. Proud Uncle of many nieces and two nephews. And I am one of the founders of Retro Cowboy Productions.
This entry was posted in Commisssions, Marvel Comics, Retro Sketch. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Sketch- 06.07.2011

  1. Craig says:

    Not only did I did the card [and the Stallone cards!!], but my buddy, LittleJohn loved it and since it was a gift for him, all the better.

    I’ll be ordering some more Stallone cards in the near future. Perhaps we should just work out way through his filmography!

  2. Krayola Kidd says:

    Bring it on. But I think I’ll pass on drawing up a card for Party at Kitty and Stud’s.

  3. Craig says:

    Yeah, I wasn’t even going to mention that movie. LOL, but it does prove you know YOUR Stallone movies.

Leave a Reply

