Daily Sketch- 06.20.2011

Good Monday morning everyone. Hope you are all doing well this fine day.

By “fine“, I mean hot. Dang hot. Nearing super hot. We are looking at highs reaching 101, with the heat index topping out at a possible 115. And it is only June 20th. Gonna be a long hot summer in the Savannah folks. And, don’t get me started on the humidity, it ain’t topped out yet, but it’s getting there.

So, what have I got for you today? Let’s see- first, I went to see two movies this past weekend. I saw Green Lantern and X-Men: First Class. Of the two, X-Men is by far the better movie.

Let’s start with Green Lantern. It was okay, I watched it, I wasn’t blown away by it. It is about on par with Daredevil and Ghost Rider in watchable-ness. It had some good scenes and the effects weren’t horrible, but the story was too jumbled up. They tried to tell too much. Ryan Reynolds was flat, but I have always said he was a bad choice. Blake Lively was awful, why this girl was cast is beyond me. Peter Sarsgaard was useless, his entire character was unnecessary. They should have left him out of the movie completely. Truth be told I have always thought the character of Hector Hammond was dumb, even in the comics. Mark Strong as Sinestro was a shining point in the film.

All said and done I’d give Green Lantern a “C+“, watchable but not memorable or re-watchable.

Now here is some art.

Green Lantern of Sector 2814

Next, X-Men: First Class. Now, let’s start by saying two things A) I am not a big fan of the X-Men, I never have been and I don’t see it happening anytime in the future. I have read some X-Men comics, even liked the stories, but they ain’t Spider-man and B) the first three X-Men movies are awful, the stories were bad and the acting was okay at best. They all had good scenes here and there, but as a whole fall apart and the last one was just plain bad.

All that said, X-Men: First Class is a really good movie. It has a well written story, decent dialogue, good acting and good effects. There were some flaws, the red Nightcrawler-like dude was stupid, January Jones’ Emma Frost was weak and the “Angel” girl with the bug wings and acidic spit balls was useless. But the film’s biggest mistake was tying itself to closely to the first bad three movies. They should taken this as an opportunity to start fresh. Kevin Bacon was good as Sebastian Shaw. The setting of the late 60s was great it made the idea of the Hellfire Club more believable. Michael Fassbender was a good Magento. And, well, Rose Byrne as Moria was… Ah who am I kidding, anyone could have played the part of Moria, but I think Rose Byrne is hot so she gets a nod.

I’d give X-Men: First Class a solid “B“. Definitely worth watching.

And here is some art.

Weapon X- This is one of the first pics I ever colored (it was done for practice, not print). Pencils by Sam Kieth.

And, lastly, I want to say Happy Anniversary to my folks. Yup, it was 41 years ago today that Ma and Pa Krayola got married. 41 years. How do you like them apples, folks?

Happy Anniversary, Mom and Dad. Love, the Kidd

 

That’s all for today, kids.

See ya next time.

the Kidd

About Krayola Kidd

Creator, Illustrator and Colorist. Proud Uncle of many nieces and two nephews. And I am one of the founders of Retro Cowboy Productions.
This entry was posted in DC Comics, Fill-Ins, Marvel Comics, Superheroes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Sketch- 06.20.2011

  1. Craig says:

    I’m not a GL fan, but I like your sketch! Congrats to your parents on 41 years!

Leave a Reply

