Daily Sketch- 01.27.2012

Greetings one and all,

Hope you all didn’t mind the quickie post yesterday, but at least it stayed on theme. Move on- the results are in for next month’s theme and there is a three way tie for first place- G.I. Joe, Pulp Adventurers and Live-action TV Superheroes. In the event of a tie- I pick the winner and everyone gets a surprise next Wednesday when the new month begins.

On to today’s DS- So this has a back-story, not a Doofenshmirtz-esque back-story, but a story none the less. Back at the beginning of the month when I was drawing the Captains, over on DeviantART, a watcher asked if I was going to draw Captain Calhoun. I had no idea who this character was and said so. He explained that Calhoun was the Captain of the USS Excalibur in the Peter David novels Star Trek: New Frontier. Not being a huge Peter David fan I said I knew of the books but had never read them. This watcher suggested I give them a shot and I did. I’ve read the first book and started the second and I can say they ain’t that bad.

End of back-story, on to the art.

Captain Mackenzie Calhoun and First Officer Lt. Commander Elizabeth Shelby of the USS Excalibur NCC- 26517-A

As these are fictional characters from novels (though Shelby did appear on Star Trek The Next Generation and was portrayed by actress Elizabeth Dennehy) I saw them cast differently in my mind’s eye while reading- in my head I cast Jim Caviezel as Calhoun and Billie Piper and Shelby. Why? Don’t know. Did I get their likenesses down great in this pic? Nope not really, but what the hey this is for fun right?

See ya’ll Monday with more Star Trek.

the Kidd

About Krayola Kidd

Creator, Illustrator and Colorist. Proud Uncle of many nieces and two nephews. And I am one of the founders of Retro Cowboy Productions.
This entry was posted in Commisssions, Favorite TV Shows, Movies N Films, Requests, Retro Cowboy, Retro Sketch, Star Trek. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

