Daily Sketch- 5.21.2012

Hi everyone,

Nope no Walking Dead cards yet. I can’t show them until one month before the release of the card set. Which is this summer in late July or August, I believe.

Today I have something special- let’s call it the evolution of a promo.

My good buddy, Matt Coleman (a man well versed in the literary art of plot weaving and the exposition of the vague into intertwined cohesive thoughts and/or ramblings. Or in the more common vernacular, the fella is a darn good word-smithy (Matt, you can quote me on that.)), has just released his first book called Black Dog: The Long Dark Road (Check it out here) and is finishing up the sequel Black Dog: Prophet In The Wilderness (due out next year) and a series of adventure novels spanning the golden ages of crime noir, pulp heroes and spy thriller- with some fun magic stuff mixed in to boot.

Both being fans of the above mentioned genres, Matt asked if I would be interested in doing the covers for the three books- I thought about and said yes, it’ll be fun. I have already envisioned and mildly layout all three covers and he hasn’t even started writing them yet. Now, before you all jump the gun, I know the basic plots, most of the main characters and I am doing these cover pulp style in which most of the artist of those covers didn’t even know a third of what I do about the story and those book covers all rock.

Any way, Matt is heading out to a comic convention this weekend near his home in Texas to sell and show his book, drum up some interest in his work and see what might come of it. Not wanting to seem like a one hit wonder, Matt asked if I could whip up some sort of teaser/promo for this series- we chatted a bit about it and I got to work on what you will see today. Only I decided to show you all something extra today-

From concept/layout sketch- to line art- to full ink- to color- and then to final promo. I hope you enjoy. Oh and if you are interested in knowing more about Matt, go here– but, if I were you, I’d look at the art first. After all, it is the cover that sells the book.

Hope you all enjoyed.

Later,

the Kidd

About Krayola Kidd

Creator, Illustrator and Colorist. Proud Uncle of many nieces and two nephews. And I am one of the founders of Retro Cowboy Productions.
This entry was posted in Black Magic Hitman. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

