Daily Sketch: 08.16.2012

Hi folks,

I’m still alive and kickin’. Busy on the next batch of sketch cards for Cryptozoic and a couple of other projects. But I had to jump on and give you guys a treat. A couple of months back I did a bunch of sketch cards for Cryptozoic Entertainment for a trading card set based on the recent launch of the “New 52” comics from DC Comics.

The “New 52” is basically DC Comics, relaunch a bunch of it’s core titles with new #1 issues and update (or modernized) origins and takes on the characters. We could discussion the pros and cons of this idea Ad Infinitum, so I won’t go on with that thought. What I will say is I have finally been given the go ahead from the AD on the project to show some of the cards I did.

So here they are- some of my favorites in the batch I did. With Batgirl being my most favored of the batch. That card just came out great and when I sent it in, it got rejected by the publisher. Why, you ask? Simple, we are given a list of characters we have permission to draw for this set, and though I’d swear she was on the list, she was not. However I am not the only person who drew characters off the list so the publisher decided to let it go and she ended up approved. Groovy, huh?

Now here is the art…

DC New 52 Sketch Cards

Later,

the Kidd

About Krayola Kidd

Creator, Illustrator and Colorist. Proud Uncle of many nieces and two nephews. And I am one of the founders of Retro Cowboy Productions.
This entry was posted in DC Comics, Retro Sketch, Superheroes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

